School of Law Ambassador

Elisha Gilmore, 2L

  • Hometown: Columbia, MO
  • Undergrad Institution: Columbia College
  • Major: Business Adminstration
  • Email: eagtm3@mail.missouri.edu

Hello!  My name is Elisha Gilmore.  I am currently a 2L in my law school journey.  I grew up in the small town of Paris in northeast Missouri but for the past few years Columbia has been my home.  In the spring of 2012, I received my undergrad degree in Business Administration with minors in Management and Psychology from Columbia College here in Columbia.

I am in many ways a non-traditional student.  I began my undergrad journey several years after having graduated high school. Prior to my academic career I worked in the financial services industry, serving in multiple roles from customer service to management.  I worked as a manager for a large local firm for several years before resigning in 2006 to join a couple business partners in forming a start-up technology company that provides data security for banks and credit card companies.  I served in a managerial role for that company for six years before deciding to forfeit the security of my career to apply to law school.  For me, Mizzou was the only option I would consider.  I am firmly rooted in Columbia and the first time I stepped inside Hulston Hall, the answer was quite easy.  Mizzou Law boasts of a small-class atmosphere amidst the largest college campus in Missouri and it is true.  The classes are small enough to create an intimate experience with the staff and your peers but large enough to provide the diversity necessary for a well-rounded learning environment.

I have not settled on a specific career path post-law school but I am finding myself steering in a transactional law direction.  I have interest in tax, contract, property and real estate.  Over the summer I clerked for the legal counsel of a National Title Insurance Company and this fall I will be an extern for MO Association of Realtors.  Although beginning law school is naturally in the forefront of your mind, at some point in the near future your mind will begin to think about internships, externships, clerkships, and summer jobs.  Although I am still learning the ropes myself, I am happy to share my experiences with you as well as the many connections I have made over the summer.

On the personal side, I am married to my wonderful husband Bruce and together we have four children with ages ranging from 9 to 17.  Although my career experiences helped to put me on my current academic path, my family gets most of the credit.  Having first established my family and career before deciding to earn a higher education has given me a unique experience which I hope to be able to share with you. 
It seems like just a few months ago I was in your position-scared, excited, anxious, intimidated. You name it.  I went through the whole gamut of emotions.  Rest assured you are not alone.  I shared your same concerns of workload, school-home-life balance, as well as anxiety over resigning from a comfortable long-term career to pursue something new.  I am here to help.  No question is too silly.  I will be happy to share my experiences as a non-traditional law student, career woman, wife and mother of four.