The Art, Craft, and Future of Legal Journalism: A Tribute to Anthony Lewis

January 31, 2014

John K. Hulston Hall


Symposium Schedule

All panels and the Earl F. Nelson Lecture will be held in Hulston Hall.

Friday, January 31

8:00 am

Continental Breakfast

8:30 am


Richard C. Reuben, symposium coordinator
James Lewis Parks Professor of Law, University of Missouri School of Law

Gary Myers
Dean and Earl F. Nelson Professor of Law, University of Missouri School of Law

Randy Picht
Director, Donald W. Reynolds Journalism Institute, Missouri School of Journalism

8:45 am

The Institution

Michael A. Wolff
Dean, Saint Louis University School of Law

Gene Policinski
Chief Operating Officer, Newseum Institute
Senior Vice President, First Amendment Center

9:15 am

The Reporter

Howard Mintz
Reporter, San Jose Mercury News

Allen Pusey
Managing Editor, ABA Journal

10:00 am



10:15 am

The Public Information Office

David A. Sellers
Public Affairs Officer, Administrative Office of the United States Courts

Beth Riggert
Communications Counsel, Supreme Court of Missouri


11:00 am

Press Freedom

Jonathan Peters
Assistant Professor, University of Dayton College of Arts and Sciences and School of Law

Ben Holden
Associate Professor of Journalism and Director of the Reynolds National Center for Courts & the Media, University of Nevada, Reno

11:45 am

Break for Lunch

1:00 pm

Earl F. Nelson Lecture presented by

Adam Liptak
Supreme Court Correspondent, The New York Times

2:00 pm


2:15 pm

Looking Ahead

Charles Nelson Davis
Dean, University of Georgia Grady College of Journalism and Mass Communications

Richard C. Reuben
James Lewis Parks Professor of Law, University of Missouri

3:00 pm

Meet the Press: Questions for the Media

3:45 pm

Closing Remarks

Paper Contributors

Lincoln Caplan
Yale Law School

Erwin Chemerinsky
University of California,
Irvine School of Law

Andrew Cohen
CBS News

Lyle Denniston

Linda Greenhouse
Yale Law School

Dahlia Lithwick